JNU Student Election 2024: Check the candidate list of JNUSU Polls, as voting begins today – Times of India | IIT EXPERT

NEW DELHI: The Jawaharlal Nehru University (JNU) Student Union Election voting round commenced today, after a period of four years. According to reports, the polls began with a slight delay due to the selection of polling agents.
A total of 7,751 students are eligible to vote in the current elections. Following a student petition for improved election mechanisms, the Delhi High Court appointed Justice V Ramasubramanian, a former Supreme Court judge, as the observer for the JNUSU elections.The JNUSU vote results are expected to be announced on March 24, 2024 (Sunday).
The JNUSU comprises four central panel positions: President, Vice President, General Secretary, and Joint Secretary. Notably, the ABVP has nominated Umesh Chandra Ajmira for President and Deepika Sharma for Vice President, while the United Left alliance has fielded Dhananjay and Avijit Ghosh for the respective positions.
The elections mark a return after a prolonged hiatus due to the COVID-19 pandemic, with the last JNUSU election won by SFI candidate Aishe Ghosh in 2019. The left-backed students’ groups had previously allied under the banner of The United-Left alliance in the 2019 polls, showcasing a strong collective front. Stay tuned for further updates on the unfolding JNUSU election scenario.
Who are the candidates contesting in the JNUSU elections 2024?
From the ABVP, potential candidates include Umesh Chandra Ajmira, Arjun Anand, Govind Dangi, Deepika, and Kavya. The NSUI has put forward Kunal Kumar, Shudhandhu Shekhar, and Farheen Zaidi as potential candidates. Other candidates include Umesh Kumar Yadav from the Students’ Federation of India, Swati Singh from the Democratic Students’ Federation, and Dhananjay from the All India Student’s Association.
(With agency inputs)

Source link

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *