JNUSU Election 2024 concluded with 73% voter turnout, marking a decade’s high – Times of India | IIT EXPERT

The Jawaharlal Nehru University (JNU) Student Union Election concluded on Friday, March 22, 2024 amid cheers and fierce sloganeering from students. According to media reports, the JNUSU polls saw a staggering 73 per cent voter turnout- estimated to be highest in the last 12 years. A total of 7751 students were eligible to cast their vote in the Student Union election.Here’s an overview of the previous year voter turnouts in JNUSU elections-

Year Voter Turnout
2024 73%
2019 67.9%
2018 67.8%
2016-17 59%
2015 55%
2013-14 55%
2012 60%

According to reports, the JNUSU elections began on Friday morning with a slight delay due to selection of polling agents. Subsequently, the results of the JNUSU are expected to be announced on Sunday, March 24, 2024. The JNUSU elections marks a return after a four-year hiatus due to the COVD-19 pandemic, with the last election round taking place in the year 2019. The previous JNUSU election saw Aishe Ghosh, a candidate supported by the left-backed SFI, emerge victorious in 2019. In that election, various left student outfits formed The United-Left alliance, comprising AISA, SFI, DSF, and AISF.
This year, 19 candidates contested for positions on the JNUSU central panel, with an additional 42 vying for school counsellor roles. Eight candidates competed for the esteemed position of president. The central panel includes the president, vice president, joint secretary, and general secretary.
A significant development arose when Swati Singh’s nomination for General Secretary from the Left panel was revoked by the Election Committee late Thursday night. This decision followed a challenge lodged with the varsity’s Grievance Redressal Cell (GRC) by ABVP.
Subsequently, Swati initiated a hunger strike, demanding a re-election and re-nomination for the general secretary post, as per various media reports. She alleged that the election committee informed her about the nomination cancellation via WhatsApp just hours before polling commenced. The election committee, however, clarified in a statement that the cancellation was made following directives from the GRC committee.
During the polling process, differently-abled students staged a hunger strike in response to an alleged derogatory remark made by ABVP’s presidential candidate during a question and answer session, as per reports.
Who were the contesting candidates?
Candidates from Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP) include Umesh Chandra Ajmira, Arjun Anand, Govind Dangi, Deepika, and Kavya. The National Students’ Union of India (NSUI) has put forward Kunal Kumar, Shudhandhu Shekhar, and Farheen Zaidi as potential candidates. Other contenders include Umesh Kumar Yadav from the Students’ Federation of India (SFI), Swati Singh from the Democratic Students’ Federation (DSF), and Dhananjay from the All India Students’ Association (AISA).
(With agency inputs)

Source link

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *