Tamil Nadu NMMS Result out: Here’s all you need to know about this scholarship – Times of India | IIT EXPERT

TN NMMS Result 2024: The Tamil Nadu Directorate of Government Examination, has declared the NMMS National Means-cum-Merit Scholarship (NMMS) Examination result 2024. Eligible class 8 students who had appeared for the NMMS 2024 exam, held on February 3, 2024, can now check the results on the official website at dge.tn.gov.in.
In order to check the results of the 2024 Tamil Nadu NMMS scholarship exam, candidates are required to provide their roll number and date of birth.The NMMS, a national scholarship initiative, is specifically targeted towards individuals facing economic disadvantages.
The NMMS programme’s goal is to provide financial assistance to economically disadvantaged students across the country. Candidates for the NMMS exam must be enrolled in state government, government-aided, or local body schools. Students’ household income must be less than Rs 3,50,000 to be eligible for the TN NMMS scholarship exam.
What are the benefits of NMMS scholarship?
The TN NMMS scheme provides annual financial assistance of Rs 12,000 to deserving students from Classes 9 to 12, aiming to reduce educational inequality and improve access to quality education. This financial assistance helps students from economically disadvantaged backgrounds cover educational expenses, lowering dropout rates and motivating them to pursue their academic goals.
What are the conditions to receive the TN NMMS scholarship?
To be eligible for a scholarship, students must meet several requirements. First and foremost, they are only eligible for one scholarship from any Central Government Scholarship scheme. Second, awardees are required to open bank accounts, preferably with SBI or any public sector or scheduled bank that provides core banking services.
In addition, eligible students must apply via the National Scholarship Portal (NSP). Their applications will be reviewed by state governments and UT administrations before being sent to the Ministry for funding approval. Only students who have been verified at all levels on NSP will be eligible for scholarship funds. Failure to renew applications within the specified time frame may result in the discontinuation of scholarships.
How is the fund transferred?
SBI, the scheme’s implementing bank, disburses funds electronically through Direct Benefit Transfer (DBT) to students’ bank accounts. Furthermore, to keep their scholarship, awardees must achieve a minimum of 60% marks in Class X (with a 5% relaxation for SC/ST candidates) and receive clear promotion from Class IX to X and Class XI to XII on their first attempt.
Eligibility criteria for continuation of the Scholarship Scheme beyond class 9 level

  • To begin the scholarship, awardees must complete grades VIII through IX.
  • The scholarship is valid for up to four years and covers studies in India from Class IX to XII.
  • No scholarships are available for diploma/certificate level courses.
  • To continue in Class X and XII, awardees must pass from IX to X and XI to XII on their first try.
  • A minimum of 60% in Class X (with a 5% relaxation for SC/ST students) is required to continue the scholarship in higher secondary.
  • If an institution does not conduct IX and/or XI exams, the scholarship for the second year will be renewed with a certificate from the Head of the Institution.

Candidates can find more information on the conditions for TN NMMS on the official website at dge.tn.gov.in.

Source link

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *