West Bengal School Holidays 2024: Bengal Government Declares Public Holidays on Polling Dates – Check When Your Schools Will Be Closed – Times of India | IIT EXPERT

According to a report by the Press Trust of India (PTI), the West Bengal government has announced localised public holidays in the respective constituency during seven-phased Lok Sabha polls, and assembly by-elections.
The report further states that an official on Thursday stated that all the state-run government offices, undertaking organisations, corporations, boards, statutory and local bodies, and educational institutions within the parliamentary constituencies and the assembly seats will remain closed on the respective dates of polling so that every employee can exercise his or her franchise.
The official suggested, as reported by PTI, that the days before the respective polling dates, known as dispatch dates, should be declared as local holidays for educational institutions and state government offices. These premises would be utilized for various election-related purposes such as polling stations, sector offices, and distribution-cum-receiving centers.
READ ALSO: Lok Sabha Elections 2024 – List of exam dates revised due to the polls

Detailed schedule of the Lok Sabha Elections 2024 in West Bengal

Phase 1 April 19 Cooch Behar, Alipurduar, Jalpaiguri
Phase 2 April 26 Darjeeling, Raiganj, Balurghat
Phase 3 May 7 Malda Uttar, Malda Dakshin, Jangipur, Murshidabad
Phase 4 May 13 Baharampur, Krishnanagar, Ranaghat, Bardhaman Purba,
Burdwan-Durgapur, Asansol, Bolpur, Birbhum
Phase 5 May 20 Bangaon, Barrackpur, Howrah, Uluberia,
Srerampur, Hooghly, Arambagh
Phase 6 May 25 Tamluk, Kanthi, Ghatal, Jhargram, Medinipur,
Purulia, Bankura, Bishnupur
Phase 7 June 1 Dum Dum, Barasat, Basirhat, Jaynagar, Mathurapur,
Diamond Harbour, Jadavpur, Kolkata Dakshin, Kolkata Uttar

The Election Commission of India has released the schedule for the 2024 Lok Sabha Elections. Voting will occur across seven phases this year, with the first phase commencing on April 19, followed by subsequent phases on April 26, May 7, May 13, May 20, May 25, and June 01, 2024. The counting of votes is scheduled for June 4.
READ ALSO: UP Lok Sabha Elections 2024 – Schools and colleges to remain closed on these days
In 2019, West Bengal saw a head-to-head battle, with the Trinamool Congress, led by Mamata Banerjee, securing victory in 22 out of the 42 seats, while the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) claimed 18 seats. The remaining two seats were won by the Congress.
(With inputs from PTI)

Source link

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *